Location Search

Republic of South Africa

South Africa, with a population of 51.77 m people, is a medium sized country (twice the size of France), and situated at the most southern end of the continent of Africa. The country, which is diverse in its vegetation, is flanked on the west by the cold Atlantic Ocean and on the east by the warm Indian Ocean. Its 2798 km coastline stretches from a desert border in the northwest, down the icy Skeleton Coast to Cape Agulhus; up along the green hills and stunning wide beaches of the Indian Ocean to a border with subtropical Mozambique. It is a warm/hot sunny country (average temp 28 deg) with a summer rainfall (Sept – May), with the exception of the Western Cape which has a winter rainfall (June – Aug with an average winter temp of 18deg).

  • Pretoria is the administrative capital
  • Cape Town the legislative capital
  • Bloemfontein the judicial capital
  • O.R Tambo International airport is found in Johannesburg, with links all around the country.
  • A valid passport and return ticket essential
  • English is one of the official 11 languages spoken
  • The Rand (100 cents) is the currency
  • Road networks are of a high standard
  • Rail is not recommended
  • Border posts connect South Africa to Botswana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland and Mozambique
  • No visas required from EU countries
  • No vaccinations required from EU countries, unless from a yellow fever area
  • Malaria prophylactics needed if visiting the Kruger Park or Lowveld
  • South Africa is 2 hours ahead of GMT
  • Internet domain: .za
Page 1 of 7123...5...Last »
Page 1 of 7123...5...Last »